The Village Church Farm Museum, formerly known as Church Farm Museum, is an open-air Lincolnshire museum of local history which was founded in 1976 as part of the Museum of Lincolnshire Life by Lincolnshire County Council in Skegness, England. In 2010 the Lincolnshire County Council withdrew and in 2011 the museum became a charitable trust run by volunteers.
Visit us today to experience life in a Victorian farmhouse, explore the thatched ‘mud and stud’ farm labourer’s cottage, marvel at Bob the traction engine and much more! We host regular events and exhibits throughout the year. Please check our events page for more information.
The farmhouse at The Village Church Farm was built back in 1760, making it the oldest house in Skegness! See below for our brief 250+ years of history.
The first recorded tenants of the Farmhouse, are the Enderby family.
During the 1840′s, Skegness was still a small settlement, with approximately 180 inhabitants. Church Farm at this time was mostly pasture, with just fifteen acres attached to the farm.
John H Grantham of Burgh Le Marsh worked the farm but did not reside there.
The farm began to lose land to the development of Skegness.
“Tunny” Tagg was the last baby born in the farmhouse.
The museum opened its doors to the public for the first time under the name ‘Church Farm Museum’.